Four Souls Logo
Quicksearch Visibility Toggle

Player Death

 

A player dies when they are reduced to 0 health or killed by an effect. When a player dies their death is put on the stack and the active player gets priority. When the player’s death resolves:

  1. The player first discards any curses afflicting them.
  2. The Death Penalty is put on the stack.
  3. Any “before paying penalties…” and “when a player dies” effects trigger and are added to the stack.
  4. The active player gets priority.

To pay The Death Penalty a player:

Can a player die multiple times in a turn?

A player can only die once per turn, and will heal to full health at the next ending phase. It is possible for a player to die multiple times, once per turn, before they next get a turn of their own, however.

Can a dead player take damage/can I deal damage to a dead player?

A player can’t choose to deal damage to a dead player, but it is possible for them to take damage from effects where the target is not chosen by a player, for example those that target all players or the player to the left or right of another player. A player can never go below 0 HP.

What happens if a player’s death is prevented?

If a player’s death is prevented by an effect, their health is returned to what it was before they took lethal damage or were killed by an effect.

What happens if the active player dies when there are still empty monster or shop slots?

If the active player dies when there are any empty shop or monster slots they must refill them before their turn can end. This will happen at the start of the ending phase. Any non-monster cards drawn would be played as normal (see Refilling Slots).


Related FAQs

Attacking and Monster Slots

What happens if a player and a monster both take lethal damage at the same time?


Normally the rules of the stack mean that one of the effects or dice rolls that would kill either the player or the monster resolves first, and thus combat will be cancelled before the other can die. There are a few exceptions, however, with a number of effects that deal damage to both a player and a monster at the same time, such as Lust's effect. In these rare cases where both the player and the monster die at the same time you resolve the monster’s death first, then the player’s.

Miscellaneous

What happens if I am forced to destroy an item, discard a loot card, or lose ¢ but I’m not able to?


Nothing. If a penalty or effect forces a player to lose something they have none of, no other penalty takes place. If a player is asked to lose more of a particular resource than they have, they just reduce the resource in question down to 0; for example, if a card forces a player to discard 2 loot, but they only have 1, that player must discard that 1 card.

Player Death

Can a player die multiple times in a turn?


A player can only die once per turn, and will heal to full health at the next ending phase. It is possible for a player to die multiple times, once per turn, before their next turn, however.

Can I prevent a player’s death after effects that trigger on their death have activated, but before they pay the death penalty?


No. Items that trigger on a player's death only trigger when their death has resolved, and it would only be possible to prevent a player's death before it had resolved.

Can a dead player take damage/can I deal damage to a dead player?


A player can’t choose to deal damage to a dead player, but it is possible for them to take damage from effects where the target is not chosen by a player, for example those that target all players or the player to the left or right of another player. A player can never go below 0 HP.

Can I still play my loot card for the turn if I am killed before I have played one?


You would be able to respond to your own death before it resolves and play your loot card for the turn if you hadn't already. Once you have finished paying the Death Penalty and the turn has moved to the Ending Phase you would no longer be able to play a loot card without tapping your character card or through some other means, however, as you would no longer be in the Action Phase of the turn.

What happens if a player’s death is prevented?


If a player’s death is prevented by an effect, their health is returned to what it was before they took lethal damage or were killed by an effect.

What happens if the active player dies when there are still empty monster or shop slots?


If the active player dies when there are any empty shop or monster slots they must refill them before their turn can end. This will happen at the start of the ending phase. Any non-monster cards drawn would be played as normal.

Ask a question

Would you like a rule clarified? Do you think you've found an edge case? Have you checked on all relative pages to ensure the question hasn't been answered already?

If so, feel free to submit a question to our Card Tzar! He may decide to edit the article to clarify the issue, or to add an FAQ to clarify your question.